65 FR 45 pgs. 12005-12006 - Alaska; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

Type: NOTICEVolume: 65Number: 45Pages: 12005 - 12006
Docket number: [FEMA-1316-DR]
FR document: [FR Doc. 00-5398 Filed 3-6-00; 8:45 am]
Agency: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Official PDF Version:  PDF Version



Alaska; Major Disaster and Related Determinations


Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).




This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of Alaska (FEMA-1316-DR), dated February 17, 2000, and related determinations.


February 17, 2000.


Madge Dale, Response and Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3772.


Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated February 17, 2000, the President declared a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. ), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Alaska, resulting from severe winter storms and avalanches beginning on December 21, 1999, and continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, P.L. 93-288, as amended ("the Stafford Act"). I, therefore, declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Alaska.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation in the designated areas and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act you may deem appropriate. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance or Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested in the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency under Executive Order 12148, I hereby appoint William Lokey of the Federal Emergency Management Agency to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of Alaska to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

Municipality of Anchorage, Kenai Peninsula Borough, Matanuska-Susitna Borough, and the Valdez-Cordova Census Area for Public Assistance.

All areas within the State of Alaska are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers(CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.542, Fire Suppression Assistance; 83.543, Individual and Family Grant (IFG) Program; 83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.545, Disaster Housing Program; 83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)

James L. Witt,


[FR Doc. 00-5398 Filed 3-6-00; 8:45 am]