- Expansion and revision of the metrics discussion under the NIPP risk management framework.
- Description of additional Homeland Security Presidential Directives, National Strategies, and legislation.
- Release of the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS), regulating a segment of those industries that involve the production, use, and storage of high-risk chemicals.
- Discussion of expanded education, training, outreach, and exercise programs.
- Evolution from the National Response Plan (NRP) to the National Response Framework (NRF).
- Inclusion of further information on research and development and modeling, simulation, and analysis efforts.

Additionally, the revised NIPP integrates the concepts of resiliency and protection and broadens the focus of NIPP-related programs and activities to the all-hazards environment.

While the basic structure and principles have not changed, changes have been made throughout the document and interested parties are encouraged to read the portions of interest to them carefully. For purposes of review, the draft revised NIPP can be found at http://www.regulations.gov.

Robert B. Stephan,

Assistant Secretary, Office of Infrastructure Protection, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. E8–27106 Filed 11–13–08; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 4410–10–P

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1795-DR]

Indiana; Amendment No. 6 to Notice of a Major Disaster Declaration

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This notice amends the notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Indiana (FEMA–1795–DR), dated September 23, 2008, and related determinations.

DATES: *Effective Date:* November 5, 2008.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–3886. **SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** The notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Indiana is hereby amended to include the following areas among those areas determined to have been adversely affected by the event declared a major disaster by the President in his declaration of September 23, 2008.

Franklin, Gibson, Ohio, Orange, Ripley, Vanderburgh, and Warrick Counties for Individual Assistance (already designated for Public Assistance).

Jasper, Posey, and St. Joseph Counties for Individual Assistance.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034 Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance Grant; 97.048, Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and Households in Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, Presidentially Declared Disaster Assistance— Disaster Housing Operations for Individuals and Households; 97.050, Presidentially Declared Disaster Assistance to Individuals and Households-Other Needs; 97.036, Disaster Grants—Public Assistance (Presidentially Declared Disasters); 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant.)

R. David Paulison,

Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.

[FR Doc. E8–27036 Filed 11–13–08; 8:45 am]

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1808-DR]

Kansas; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of Kansas (FEMA–1808–DR), dated October 31, 2008, and related determinations.

DATED: Effective Date: October 31, 2008. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated October 31, 2008, the President issued a major disaster declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford

Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5207 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Kansas resulting from severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes during the period of September 11–17, 2008, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5207 (the Stafford Act). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Kansas.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the designated areas, Hazard Mitigation throughout the State, and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act that you deem appropriate. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs. Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance also will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs, except for any particular projects that are eligible for a higher Federal cost-sharing percentage under the FEMA Public Assistance Pilot Program instituted pursuant to 6 U.S.C. 777. If Other Needs Assistance under Section 408 of the Stafford Act is later requested and warranted, Federal funding under that program also will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, Michael L. Karl, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this major disaster.

The following areas of the State of Kansas have been designated as adversely affected by this major disaster:

Anderson, Butler, Chase, Cowley, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Russell, and Sumner Counties for Public Assistance. All counties within the State of Kansas are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance Grant; 97.048, Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and Households in Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, Presidentially Declared Disaster Assistance—