Issued in Renton, Washington, on December 22, 2000.

#### John J. Hickey,

Manager, Transport Airplane Directorate, Aircraft Certification Service.

[FR Doc. 01–28 Filed 1–4–01; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 4910-13-U

#### **DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION**

## **Federal Aviation Administration**

#### 14 CFR Part 71

[Airspace Docket No. 00-ASO-35]

## Amendment of Class D and Class E4 Airspace; Gainesville, FL

**AGENCY:** Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), DOT. **ACTION:** Final rule; correction.

**SUMMARY:** This action corrects an error in the geographic position coordinates of a final rule that was published in the **Federal Register** on November 13, 2000, (65 FR 67624), Airspace Docket No. 00–ASO–35. The final rule amended Class D and Class E4 airspace at Gainesville, FL.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** January 5, 2001.

#### FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Wade T. Carpenter, Jr., Manager, Airspace Branch, Air Traffic Division, Federal Aviation Administration, P.O. Box 20636, Atlanta, Georgia 30320; telephone (404) 305–5586.

## SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

## History

Federal Register Document 00–28989, Airspace Docket No. 00–ASO–35, published on November 13, 2000, (65 FR 67624), amended Class D and Class E4 airspace at Gainesville, FL. The airspace description inadvertently contained incorrect geographic position coordinates for the GATORS VORTAC. This action corrects the error.

## **Correction to Final Rule**

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority delegated to me, the airspace description for the Class E4 airspace area Gainesville, FL, incorporated by reference at Sec. 71–1 and published in the **Federal Register** on November 13, 2000 (65 FR 67624), is corrected as follows:

## §71.71 [Corrected]

\* \* \* \*

#### ASO FL E4 Gainesville, FL [Corrected]

On page 67625, column 2, line 2 of the GATORS VORTAC geographic position description, correct the geographic position coordinates by substituting "(lat. 29°41′11″N,

long.  $82^{\circ}16'28''W$ )" for "(lat  $29^{\circ}34'20''N$ , long.  $82^{\circ}21'45''W$ )".

\* \* \* \* \*

Dated: Issued in College Park, Georgia, on December 7, 2000.

#### Wade T. Carpenter,

Acting Manager, Air Traffic Division, Southern Region.

[FR Doc. 01–348 Filed 1–4–01; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 4910-13-M

#### **DEPARTMENT OF STATE**

#### 22 CFR Part 41

[Public Notice 3532]

RIN 1400-AA48

## Bureau of Consular Affairs; Visas: Aliens Ineligible to Transit Without Visas (TWOV)

**AGENCY:** Bureau of Consular Affairs, Department of State.

**ACTION:** Interim rule with request for comments.

**SUMMARY:** Section 212(d)(4)(A) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) permits the Secretary of State, acting jointly with the Attorney General, to waive the visa and passport requirement of INA 212(a)(7)(B) for certain aliens in direct transit through the United States. This waiver allows an alien to transit the United States without a passport and visa provided the alien is traveling on a carrier signatory to an agreement with the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) in accordance with INA 233(c) and bears documentation establishing identity and nationality which permits the alien's entry into another country. This rule sets forth a new list of countries that are ineligible to transit without visa (TWOV).

**DATES:** *Effective Date:* This interim rule is effective February 5, 2001.

Comment Date: Interested persons should submit comments on or before March 6, 2001.

ADDRESSES: Submit comments, in duplicate, to the Chief, Legislation and Regulations Division, Visa Services, Department of State, Washington, DC 20522–0113.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: H. Edward Odom, Chief, Legislation and Regulations Division, Visa Office, Room L603–C, SA–1, Department of State, Washington, DC 20520–0106, (202) 663–1204; or e-mail: odomhe@state.gov.

## SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

# What Is the Authority for Allowing or Prohibiting Transit Without Visa?

Section 212(d)(4)(C) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) provides the authority for the Secretary of State, acting jointly with the Attorney General, to waive the passport and/or visa requirement for a nonimmigrant who is in immediate and continuous transit through the United States and is using a carrier that has entered into a Transit Without Visa (TWOV) Agreement as provided in INA 233(c)

#### Who Determines Which Countries Can Transit Without a Visa?

Since TWOV does not involve the issuance of a visa, the Department's role in the day-to-day administration of the TWOV program is minimal. Therefore, the Department's regulation at 22 CFR 41.2(i), for the most part, is merely a restatement of the INS regulation on the same subject. The Department does become involved, however, in the designation of those countries whose citizens are ineligible to utilize the TWOV. The current regulation provides a list of ineligible countries.

#### **Interim Rule**

How Will the Department of State Amend its Regulations?

This rule, and the INS rule published elsewhere in this issue, amends the list of countries which the Department and the INS have determined are not eligible for this transit without visa (TWOV) program.

The Department has also dropped from the regulation the list of countries whose citizens were eligible to TWOV solely on the basis of reciprocity. A separate list of such countries is no longer deemed necessary and thus will no longer be maintained. Rather a single list of countries whose citizens have been denied TWOV privileges will be published.

The Department is also amending the reference to "INA 238(d)" to read "INA 233".

Which Countries Will Benefit From This Amendment?

Due to the breakup of the former Soviet Union, citizens of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan are now eligible to TWOV. Because of the democratization of the former Warsaw Pact countries, citizens of Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Slovakia may also TWOV. The TWOV privilege is also extended to citizens of Croatia, the